What Happened

8 months ago I went through something beautiful and traumatic, it is something I will never forget for many reasons.30-11-15 my beautiful boy was brought into this world unaware of the danger we were both just in. 

29-11-15 5 weeks before my due date at precisely 5 am I woke to a pain like I have never felt before; it felt like a sharp knife was plunged into my stomach and a bomb went off inside. Scared and nervous my instinct told me it is not labour but something worse something to be afraid of, I woke my husband and went to emergency department, upon arrival it had gotten so bad I could not walk so I got wheeled up to maternity. I explained my situation and every detail of my pain and they gave me medication to relieve my pain and monitored the baby knowing I was not in labour but to make sure he was ok. The pain became bearable and I was told it was the baby’s head pressing a nerve and I was sent home. I knew something was wrong but there was no sign of baby coming… Until 7.30pm my water broke but something was wrong I was bleeding too much so I rushed to the hospital, all were in shock that I was back so they started to monitor baby and contractions and all were fine and the contractions began to grow hard and strong I stayed for 8 hours bleeding and they done nothing but told me to wait and see because my baby’s heart was strong. Suddenly his heart rate dropped significantly, I was so afraid when the midwives came in it was all a rush to get me into surgery I was being wheeled away, signing papers, listening to what may happen to me and all I could think of was my baby I wanted him safe and sound. The surgeon performed a emergency c section. 

30-11-15 2.44am my son took his first breath of our air. He was premature but not small but because of him being so early they took him straight away I only caught a glimpse of his beautiful face at this point I learned my placenta had ruptured and I was bleeding internally and my baby was suffocating inside. After recovery I was allowed to be with him, to hold him, kiss him and just stare, nothing mattered at that point I would do it all again to have him with me. We are both happy and healthy I thank god everyday for this blessing it may have been dramatic but it was all worth it..

12 thoughts on “What Happened

  1. My girlfriend and I just went through something similar. She was 41 weeks along and everything was happening naturally until the baby heart rate dropped. Suddenly several doctors and nurses rush into the room telling her about the c section as they wheeled her away. She was so afraid and so was I. Moments later, I heard my son crying. Everyone is fine now and she’s healing nicely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

